This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Subdivisions of Taiwan

Last modified: 2020-07-31 by ian macdonald
Keywords: taiwan | subdivisions |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Special Municipalities (chih-hsia-shih)

Taiwan Province

Municipalities (shih):

Counties (hsien):

Previous counties merged into other entities:

Fu-chien (Fujian) Province

  • Chin-men (Kinmen)
  • Lien-chiang (Lienchiang) (Matsu islands)

I got a reply back today from a friend who noted that the Republic of China (Taiwan) which controls Taiwan province of fragments of Fujian province does not have province flags for Taiwan or Fukien (Fujian). But they do have adopted seals. Below are the links to the ROC seals of Fukien province and the new and old seals of Taiwan province. Note, there will also be 3 new special cities at the end of 2010: new Special cities: Taichung, Tainan, and Sinbei City.
Ben Cahoon, 16 March 2010

There is no flag for the ROC province of Fukien (Fujian) or Taiwan Province. They only has logo (coat of arms).
Logo for the ROC province of Fukien (Fujian).
Logo for the ROC province of Taiwan.  (New) (New)  (Old)
December 2010 there could be 4 new Special cities not 3, because "new" Kaohsiung City include "old' Kaohsiung City and Kaohsiung County. See Approved ROC municipalities in 2010
Evan, 17 March 2010

Funny that these could be dismissed as being vexillologically irrelevant, as they are not used on flags. But the fact they are not used (unlike the county logos/seals, at the lower administrative level) is in itself a vexillological question - not to mention that it is not unlikely that these emblems are / were / will be used on unofficial flags.
These three at the same level as provinces, just like T'ai-pei and Kao-hsiung - what can be expected in terms of flag changes? Maybe nothing?
António Martins-Tuválkin, 17 March 2010

As it relates to the other the new special cities, it seems this is part of a general realignment in Taiwan's local administrative boundaries, which is generally speaking a consolidation.
I assume there might be new flags made for at least 3 to 4 of the 5 new special cities since they will be the result of both existing cities and the surrounding counties. Perhaps this will be all done y the 25 Dec 2010 start date of the new divisions. But it remains to be see, hopefully some one will keep an eye on this for future developments.
Ben Cahoon, 20 March 2010

The title of 1st paragraph "Special Municipalities (chuan-shih)": there is not such a noun, "chuan-shih", in Chinese to mean Special Municipalities. We call it "Chih-hsia-shih" (most) or "Yuan-hsia-shih" (sometimes) in Wade-Giles, or "Zhíxiáshì" (most) or "Yuànxiáshì" (sometimes) in Pinyin.
Akira Oyo, 04 April 2014