This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Karaman (District Municipality, Turkey)

Last modified: 2017-10-15 by ivan sache
Keywords: karaman |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Municipality flag]

Flag of Karaman - Image by Jens Pattke, 3 November 2012

See also:

Flag of Karaman

The flag of Karaman (photo) is white with the municipality's emblem in the middle. "Belediyesi" means "Municipality".

Tomislav Šipek, 23 October 2012

Karamanoğlu Mehmetbay University


Flag of KMÜ - Image by Ivan Sache, 13 June 2017

Karamanoğlu Mehmetbay University (Karamanoğlu Mehmetbey Üniversitesi - KMÜ) was established in 2007 in Karaman.
KMÜ is named for Mehmed Bey of Karaman, the third bey of the Turkmen Karamanid dynasty. The Karamanid beylik emerged around 1250 and was eventually incorporated to the Ottoman Empire in 1483. In 1276/1277, Mehmed Bay defeated Mongol and Seljuk armies, seizing Konya on 12 May 1277. Mehmed was killed in 1277/1278 in a skirmish with a Mongol column.
According to the linguist Agop Martayan Dilaçar (1895-1979), Mehmed Bay ordered by a firman dated 13/15 May 1277 that "from that day forward, in the council, in the dervish lodge, in the court, in the assembly, in the square, no language but Turkish should be spoken".

The flag of KMÜ (photo) is white with the university's emblem in the center.
The emblem "is based on the firman of Mehmed Bay in which he declared no language other than Turkish was allowed. The 16 firman represent the 16 Turkish States. Connecting with each other firman makes up a sun which affects all Turkish states and this sun symbolizes that Turkish is spoken everywhere. The blue colour means unaffectedness, dignity and trust; the yellow colour means positivism and knowledge light."
[KMÜ website (archived)]

Ivan Sache, 13 June 2017