This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Anglican and Episcopal Churches

Last modified: 2019-08-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: anglican church | episcopal church | church of england |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

On this page:

See also:

Anglican Communion

[Flag of the Anglican Communion] image by Rob Raeside, 17 March 2013

The Anglican Communion is the peak body of various Anglican and Episcopal churches around the world. The Communion has a flag, which is ultramarine blue, with a golden compass ('compass rose') bearing at its centre, a white shield with red borders carrying a red St. George's cross surrounded by a Greek motto meaning 'The Truth Shall Make You Free', topped by a golden mitre. The 'compass rose' can be found in the official website of the Compass Rose Society.
Miles Li, 29 March 2001

Variant Flag

[Flag of the Anglican Communion] image by Eugene Ipavec, 14 July 2006

It should be noted that the text [and image] in the section above says the shield in the center of the compass rose is white, with a red cross and red borders, a photo, formerly posted on the official Anglican Communion website, clearly shows it as yellow, or gold, with a blue cross and border.
Ned Smith, 5 September 2004

List of Churches of the Anglican Communion

The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand & Polynesia
The Anglican Church of Australia
The Church of Bangladesh
Igreja Episcopal Anglicana do Brasil
The Anglican Church of Burundi
The Anglican Church of Canada
The Church of the Province of Central Africa
Iglesia Anglicana de la Region Central de America
Province de L'Eglise Anglicane Du Congo
The Church of England
Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui
The Church of the Province of the Indian Ocean
The Church of Ireland
The Nippon Sei Ko Kai (The Anglican Communion in Japan)
The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem & The Middle East
The Anglican Church of Kenya
The Anglican Church of Korea
The Church of the Province of Melanesia
La Iglesia Anglicana de Mexico
The Church of the Province of Myanmar (Burma)
The Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion)
The Church of North India (United)
The Church of Pakistan (United)
The Anglican Church of Papua New Guinea
The Episcopal Church in the Philippines
L'Eglise Episcopal au Rwanda
The Episcopal Church of Puerto Rico
The Scottish Episcopal Church
Church of the Province of South East Asia
The Church of South India (United)
The Church of the Province of Southern Africa
Iglesia Anglicana del Cono Sur de America
The Episcopal Church of the Sudan
The Anglican Church of Tanzania
The Church of the Province of Uganda
The Episcopal Church of the USA
The Church in Wales
The Church of the Province of West Africa
The Church in the Province of the West Indies
The Church of Ceylon (E-P to the Archbishop of Canterbury)
Iglesia Episcopal de Cuba
Bermuda (Extra-Provincial to Canterbury)
The Lusitanian Church (E-P to the Archbishop of Canterbury)
The Reformed Episcopal Church of Spain (E-P to the Archbishop of Canterbury)
Falkland Islands (Extra-Provincial to Canterbury)

List provided by John Udics, 15 July 2006

Scottish Episcopal Church heraldry

There does not seem to be a general flag for the Scottish Episcopal Church, the Scottish branch of the Anglican Communion. It should be noted that most of the seven individual dioceses of the church have their own arms; a list of these dioceses can be found at
However, there seems also to be a general church logo; this can be found at Furthermore, the central image of this logo seems to have been adopted by the Scottish branch of Forward in Faith. This image can be found at
Ron Lahav, 29 January 2005