This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Sluis (The Netherlands)

Zeeland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: sluis | aardenburg |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Sluis municipality flag] by Mark Sensen, 25 March 2003.
adopted 27 Feb 2003. Design: D. de Koning.

Other Sluis pages: See also:

Sluis municipality

Sluis consists of Sluis town (seat), Aardenburg town, Biervliet, Breskens, Cadzand, Eede, Groede, Hoofdplaat, Oostburg, Nieuwvliet, Retranchement, Schoondijke, Sint Kruis, Waterlandkerkje, IJzendijke, and Zuidzande. There are 24.787 inhabitants on 30.843. Sluis town has 2.373, and the most populous settlement is Oostburg with 4.917 inhabitants. The new municipality was formed 1 Jan 2003 by the merger of the municipalities of Sluis-Aardenburg and Oostburg.
The new flag was adopted by municipal resolution on 27 Feb 2003. Designer: D. de Koning.
Jarig Bakker, 7 May 2003

In "De gemeentewapens van Nederland", 1962, Sierksma counts four municipalities which have such arms related to "Het Vrije van Sluis": - Cadzand, Groede, Schoondijke, and Zuidzande.
Of these, the Cadzand uses the shield augmented with a K sabel in the sinister chief, Schoondijke uses the shield augmented with an S sabel in the sinister chief, and Zuidzande uses the shield augmented with a Z azure on each side of the bar. Groede uses the original Coat of Arms of "Het Vrije van Sluis".
Peter Hans van den Muijzenberg, 1 Jan 1978

Sluis municipal Coat of Arms

[Sluis municipal Coat of Arms] image from this website. Designer: D. de Koning .

Sluis Aardenburg former municipal flag

Sluis Aardenburg municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

Sluis-Aardenburg is a merger of the former municipalities of Aardenburg and Sluis (01-01-1995).The flag was adopted on 9 November 1995.

Aardenburg [former municipality]

former Aardenburg Shipmate Flagchart :

Aardenburg was a municipality in Zeeuws Vlaanderen, and consisted of Aardenburg town (seat), Bakkersdam (part), Biezen, Draaibrug, Eede, Moershoofde, Sint Kruis, Smedekensbrugge, Valeiskreek and Vuilpan. On 1 Jan 1979 it had 3.908 inhabitants on 49,71 ha.
Aardenburg has 2.478 inhabitants, and received city rights shortly before 1187 and is so one of the oldest towns in the Netherlands. Eede (locally known as d'Ee, after the Ee, a small river running from Maldegem, Oostvlaanderen, forming the harbour of Aardenburg and reached the sea in the Zwin, east of Sluis. Eede gained national fame, because it was the first Dutch settlement where Queen Wilhelmina set foot on Dutch soil.
In 1995 Aardenburg became part of Sluis Aardenburg municipality, and 1 Jan 2003 of the new merger resulting in Sluis municipality.
The flag of Aardenburg (see is a yellow field with a red double castle, adopted 21 Apr 1959, and is identical to the Coat of Arms.
The Coat of Arms can be seen at Ralf Hartemink's site and is said to be canting as the original name of Aardenburg was "Rodenburgh" (Red castle). The Coat of Arms was granted 31 July 1817. The Aardenburg castle figures also prominently on the old Sluis Aardenburg municipality flag and the new Sluis municipality flag and Coat of Arms (see this website).
Jarig Bakker, 7 May 2003

Sluis [former municipality]

former Sluis Shipmate Flagchart :