This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Zesgehuchten (The Netherlands)

former municipality, Geldrop-Mierlo municipality, Noord-Brabant province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: zesgehuchten |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Zesgehuchten villageflag] image from the Zesgehuchten site.
adopted 17 May 2009

See also:

Zesgehuchten former municipality

Zesgehuchten, a former municipality of North Brabant incorporated into Geldrop (merged with Mierlo to form Geldrop-Mierlo in 2004) in 1921, will officially unveil its flag on 17 May 2009.
When a municipality, Zesgehuchten had no flag; accordingly, the local association "Belangenvereniging Zesgehuchten" decided to offer the village an "historic accurate flag". The flag is vertically divided blue-yellow (1:2) with two yellow six-pointed stars placed vertically in the blue stripes and three red horns placed 2 and 1 in the yellow stripe.
Yellow, blue and red are the colours of the arms of the former municipality of Zesgehuchten.
The horns come from the arms of the Lords of Heeze, Leende and Zesgehuchten, from the House of Horne.
Source: Municipality, village interests.
The arms of Zesgehuchten, granted by Royal Decree on 16 July 1817, are: "Azure a tree or holding an escutcheon of the same three horns azure in chief two mullets or".
In 1996, the North Brabant Commission for Heraldry and Vexillology modified the arms, to be used as the village arms "Or three horns gules surrounding a mullet of the same".
This design does not seem to be actually used.
Source: Ralf Hartemink.
Ivan Sache, 14 May 2009

The site cited by Ivan shows the flag and multiple photos of its inauguration.
The Zesgehuchten (6 hamlets) are: Riel, Gijzenrooi, Genoenhuis, Hoog-Geldrop, Hout, Hulst, Papevoort and Putten - the municipality was named after the first 6, the earliest settlements. The inhabitants lived off the soil and off factory-labour in Geldrop. The soil is sandy, but when it's been raining one drowns in slick and when it's dry one can't breath because of dust. The soil produced rye, buckwheat, oats, barley, tatties, flax, hemp and of course spurry. There was a cornmill.
The municipality was abolished in 1920; most went to Geldrop, part (Riel) went to Eindhoven.
Jarig Bakker, 6 Aug 2009


[Zesgehuchten villagearms] image from the Koffie Hag album.
granted 16 Jul 1817