This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

North Borneo Federation

Kalimantan Utara

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: north borneo federation | kalimantan utara | sabah | brunei | sarawak | borneo |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[North Borneo Federation] image by Jakub Grombíř, 16 July 2010

See also:


The North Borneo Federation (Kalimantan Utara) was a projected state in South-East Asia, declared in the early 1960s from the Brunei People Party, led by Ahmad Mahmud Azahari, with support from Indonesia. The NBF was to be part of the Commonwealth (the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland was their model) and consist from Brunei, Sabah and Sarawak. Political issues arose in Sabah and Sarawak when they joined NBF proposal, because they were afraid of the dominance of the more populated and economically developed Western (mainland) Malaysia. When the Sultan of Brunei rejected the plan, Azahari started an uprising against him, but it was knocked down soon, using British Gurkha troops. The flag of the NBF was shaped similarly to the Brunei flag, with two diagonal stripes (the so-called parallelogram), but it had Malaysian colours: white, red and blue. At the center of the flag was a yellow disc bearing a red lion (the badge of British North Borneo, former name of
Jakub Grombíř, 16 July 2010