This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Gard (Department, France)

Last modified: 2020-01-26 by ivan sache
Keywords: gard |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Gard - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 14 March 2019

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 30
Region: Occitanie (Languedoc-Roussillon until 2014)
Traditional provinces: Languedoc
Bordering departments: Ardèche, Aveyron, Bouches-du-Rhône, Hérault, Lozère, Vaucluse

Area: 5,853 km2
Population (2016): 742,006 inhabitants

Préfecture: Nîmes
Sous-préfectures: Alès, Le Vigan
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 23 cantons, 351 municipalities.

The department is named after river Gard - also called Gardon - (71 km), a tributary to the Rhône.

Ivan Sache, 11 April 2019

Flag of Gard

The flag of Gard is yellow with the department's logo (photo, photo). In 2015, General Councils were renamed to Departmental Councils. The logo was modified with the word “Département” and some light modifications concerning the font and the size of the space between the graphic part and the letters.

The logo is structured around a graphic element: the arches, recalling the Pont du Gard, an ancient Roman aqueduct that crosses river Gardon near the town of Vers-Pont-du-Gard. Built as three tiers of archways to bring water to the town of Nîmes, it is the highest of all elevated Roman aqueducts (48.8 m), and one of the best preserved. It was added to UNESCO's list of World Heritage Sites in 1985 because of its historical importance.
According to the Departmental Council, the colors of the logo represent the sun, the sky, and passion.

Olivier Touzeau, 14 March 2019

Flag of the former General Council


Flag of the former General Council of Gard - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 14 March 2019

The flag of the former General Council of Gard was yellow with the logo in use between 2000 and 2015 (photo).

Olivier Touzeau, 14 March 2019