This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Federal Regional Court (Brazil)

Last modified: 2020-07-26 by ian macdonald
Keywords: federal regional court |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Federal Regional Court First Region

Tribunal Regional Federal da Primeira Região

[Federal Regional Court - First Region (Brazil)] image located by Valentin Poposki, 21 February 2006

An upright blue cross on white, overlain by a garland and constellation of stars in gold and white a ribbon bearing the motto and the words TRF 1a REGIÃO.

I note four stars (which stand for the states and are here shown in the same pattern as in the national flag) are shown in a different color while all the others are yellow, the stars standing for Piauí, Maranhão, Rio Grande do Norte and Ceará are white. Since these states are contiguous, I suspect these for the mentioned 1st Judicial Region of the Federal Court.

Checking, one learns that the activities of the Brazilian Federal Court are indeed divided in five regions. At, it turns out that the 5th region includes Rio Grande do Norte and Ceará states, leaving for the 1st region the bulk or Brazil's territory. So the differently colored stars in the 1st region flag seem to be due to something else. (Later: the said page explains that the Libra constellation was added to the stars on this flag as it symbolizes balance, impartiality and justice. The text on this page makes me think that the others may not necessarily have a flag; this seems to have been a spontaneous initiative, not some centrally issued regulation.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 21 February 2006