This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Geeste (Germany)

Gemeinde Geeste, Emsland County, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: geeste |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Geeste flag] 5:9 image by Jörg Majewski, 16 Oct 2007
Flag adopted 2 Dec 1982

See also:

Geeste municipality

Municipality Geeste
county Emsland
coa adopted: 2nd December 1982 [1]
flags adopted: 2nd December 1982 [2]

The municipality Geeste resulted from the voluntary merger of the former municipalities Klein Hesepe and Gross Hesepe to the municipality Gross Hesepe  (7 January 1968), Dalum, Geeste and Osterbrock (2 January 1971) to the municipality Geeste and by  the incorporation of Gross Hesepe, Bramhar and Varloh (3 January 1974) and Bienerfeld-North (4 January 1974) into the municipality Geeste. All former separate municipalities, now incorporates in the municipality of Geeste, are situated to the west or east of the  Ems river.
Therefore a white sloping creek is in the coat of arms and alludes to the Ems flowing through the municipality Geeste.
flag, ratio 5:9, stripes 1:3:1 [3]
banner, ratio 10:3, stripes 1:3:1 [3]
coat of arms [1]
[1]   Hanns Fettweis, "Die Wappen der Städte, Gemeinden und Altkreise des Emslandes", 1989.
[2]   Federal Archives of Hannover
[3]   E-Mail from the municipality of 15th April 2005
Jörg Majewski, 16 Oct 2007


[Geeste banner] 10:3 image by Jörg Majewski, 16 Oct 2007
adopted  2 Dec 1982

Coat of Arms

[Geeste coat of arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 16 Oct 2007
CoA adopted  2 Dec 1982