This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Hawkins County, Tennessee (U.S.)

Last modified: 2022-02-19 by rick wyatt
Keywords: hawkins county | tennessee |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Hawkins County] image by Ivan Sache, 8 July 2008

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

Municipal flags in Hawkins County:

See also:

Description of the flag

Hawkins County (53,563 inhabitants in 2000; 1,294 sq. km) is located in north-eastern Tennessee, on the border with Virginia. Founded in 1784 as Spencer County in the short-lived Franklin state, Hawkins County was created in North Carolina on 6 January 1787 by secession from Sullivan County, and transferred to Tennessee in 1796. Its first seat was a new community called Hawkins Court House, incorporated in 1789 as the Town of Rogersville, named after Joseph Rogers (1764-1833) and nearly completely listed on the National Register of Historic Places. - Official website

As reported by LaSaundra Brown (WBIR), the County Commission decided to adopt a flag in 1999, which was designed by Dillon Barker, then aged 15. The flag shows the County seal in the left hand corner and six gold stars. Crockett Lee, Hawkins County Mayor, said: "The six stars that you see are the locations of the six municipalities that are in the county. We've got the town of Bulls Gap, Church Hill, Rogersville, Mount Carmel, Surgoinsville, and a portion of the city of Kingsport. The gold band on the right will represent all the areas outside of the six municipalities." A video footage available on the WBIR website shows the flag as described by the Mayor

Ivan Sache, 8 July 2008


[Flag of Hawkins County, Tennessee] image located by Paul Bassinson, 4 March 2019

Paul Bassinson, 4 March 2019