This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Choiseul Province (Solomon Islands)


Last modified: 2013-03-23 by ian macdonald
Keywords: choiseul | lauru |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Choiseul, Solomon Islands] image by Jens Pattke, 25 December 2008

See also:


Choiseul Province is one of the nine provinces of the Solomon Islands. It lies between the island of Bougainville (part of Papua New Guinea) and Santa Isabel in the west of the Solomon Islands. It consists mainly of Choiseul Island with an area of 3 294 kmē and further includes three small surrounding islands: Taro Island (100 kmē), Vaghena (243 kmē) and Rob Roy (200 kmē). It has a population of 20,008 (1999). The capital is Taro, on Taro Island.

The flag has horizontal stripes of different widths. The stripes symbolize :
- blue = Pacific
- yellow = Land of Choiseul Island
- green = flora and vegetation .
- red = fauna
- black = Melanesian people

The white stars represent the church districts (parish): North West, North East, Upper South Choiseul and South Choiseul. In the center is a white circle with a black Kuvojo (or Kukuvojo). The Kuvojo is the Choiseul Crested Pigeon (Microgoura meeki), a presumably extinct pigeon which was only known on the Solomon island of Choiseul in the Pacific.
Jens Pattke, 25 December 2008

Based on there's some kind of "decoration" on the ring surrounding the bird which is facing the fly not the hoist. The ring on the flag used in the parade shown at obviously is plain but the bird indeed seems to face the fly.
Paraskevas Renesis, 13 February 2013