This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Rissa, South Trøndelag (Norway)

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by christopher oehler
Keywords: south trondheim | rissa |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Tomislav Šipek, 23 February 2017

See also:

The flag

Here is flag and coat of arms of Rissa. Administrative center is Årnset.
Tomislav Šipek, 17 December 2015

Coat of Arms

[COA of Roan] image by Tomislav Šipek, 17 December 2015

Blazon: I grønt en sølv rosekrans. In English: Vert a chaplet of three quatrefoils argent.
Approved by the royal resolution of 23 January 1987 after a drawing by Oscar Bergsaune. [c2j87]
The design refers to three previous municipalities united in 1964 (Stadsbygd, Rissa and Stjørna), as well as to Duke Skule Bårdsson (see drawing from a relief in Trondheim him wearing such chaplet. [c2j87] says the relief was on his grave in the cathedral, afterwards moved in the diocesan palace) who owned lands in Rissa. He erected a monastery and a church in 1230. Also [c2j87] states that the usual chaplets in the Middle Age had five roses (although English heraldry usually show them with four!), but Rissa chose to retain only three that are visible on the Skule's gravestone, to symbolise the unification of the three municipalities.
Željko Heimer, 18 December 2015