This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Buitenpost (The Netherlands)

Achtkarspelen municipality, Fryslân province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: buitenpost |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Buitenpost villageflag] Shipmate Flagchart :

See also:

Buitenpost village

Buitenpost / Bûtenpost is the municipal seat of Achtkarspelen municipality, with 5703 inhabitants. Its name means: Outer post (of Fryslân against the Grunninger frontier). At present it is halfway on the railway Groningen - Leeuwarden. In ancient times Buitenpost belonged to the Westerkwartier of Groningen province. But it has belonged for ages already to the old Frisian division of Oostergo. As main element of Buitenpost's Coat of Arms the Oostergo arms have been chosen "gules two fesses argent". On the choir of the church in Buitenpost is a black metal cross with a wreath of eight golden lilies (a Mary-emblem). The eight golden fleur-de-lis stand for the old "grietenij" (municipality), and have been spread over the shield 3:3:2. The two silver fesses each contain a symbol from the Oostergo-arms. In the center of the topmost bar is a red six-pointed star. In Frisian heraldry this is a "leading star', symbolizing Buitenpost as the municipal seat. In the village were several noble houses, like Jeltinga and Herbranda. Most of these families had arms with one or more roses - to honor them a red rose has been placed in the center of the bottom silver bar.
The Scandinavian cross on the flag represents the important roads crossing the village (east-west: Groningen-Leeuwarden; north-south: Kollum-Drachten).
Source: Wapens en vlaggen in de gemeente Achtkarspelen, Buitenpost, 1999.

Buitenpost Coat of Arms

[Buitenpost Coat of Arms] from the Achtkarspelen municipal website.