This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nijefurd (The Netherlands)

Fryslân province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: nijefurd |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Nijefurd municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adoption date unknown.

Other Nijefurd pages: See also:

Nijefurd municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 10.913; area: 289,17 km². Settlements: Workum (seat), Hemelum, Hindeloopen, It Heidenskip, Koudum, Molkwerum, Nijhuizum, Stavoren, Warns.
The name Nijefurd for this municipality in southwest Friesland was chosen at the occasion of the municipal reorganisation in 1984 of the province of Friesland, the Netherlands. The main area consists of the old municipality of Hemelumer Oldeferd (Oldeferd = old 'vrede' = peace, referring to the old judicial domain). Added were the cities of Staveren, Hindelopen and Workum, which are really small villages with city-rights of old. Staveren was in early medieval times the capital of the Frisian nation.
Flagdescription: at the hoist three equally wide stripes green - blue - black, each containing a yellow mural crown of three pinnacles, joined red; and at the fly two equally wide horizontal stripes yellow - red.
The mural crowns symbolize the three towns in the municipality.
Jarig Bakker, 31 August 1999

Nijefurd Coat of Arms

[Nijefurd Coat of Arms] from Ralf Hartemink's site.
Granted 26 Mar 1984.