This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Noordoostpolder (The Netherlands)

Flevoland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: noordoostpolder |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Noordoostpolder flag] Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 28 Aug 1963

Other Noordoostpolder pages: See also:

Noordoostpolder municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 44.727; area: 59,62 km². Settlements: Emmeloord (seat), Bant, Creil, Ens, Espel, Kraggenburg, Luttelgeest, Marknesse, Nagele, Rutten, Tollebeek.
The Noordoostpolder was the first big polder in the IJsselmeer; it contains the former islands of Urk and Schokland; Schokland consisted of two villages: Ens and Emmeloord; both names are names of new villages in the Noordoostpolder.
On 28 Aug 1963 the municipal flag was adopted by municipal resolution.
Description: quartered white and blue, with the first and third quarters having 1/3 flaglength; over all a countercharged white - blue cross; in the canton with a red castle with three pinnacles, joined black and with a black gate; and in the hoist-bottom a white fleur-de-lis.
The colors of the flag have been derived from the municipal arms. The castle is red instead of black because it was thought to have a better effect on the flag.
Jarig Bakker, 16 August 1999.

Noordoostpolder Coat of Arms

[Noordoostpolder Coat of Arms] image from the Noordoostpolder municipal site.

Granted 16 Jul 1963. Description: quartered: I. azure a fleur-de-lis argent; II. or a three pinnacled castle noir, joined argent, and with two windows; III. or five right bend gules; IV. azure a penny argent, stamped with a double-lined cross pommelly noir, with in the four corners three disks noir, placed in a triangle.
The shield is surmontée with a crown of three leaves and two pearls.
I. The lily is a canting element for the founder of the Zuiderzee-project, C. Lely.
II., III. en IV - the territory of the Noordoostpolder was nearly completely recovered from the sea. In the Middle Ages it was still inhabited, and the counts of Kuinre had a major influence here. The County of Kuinre consisted of the present area of the Noordoostpolder, and the area between Weststellingwerf and Vollenhove.
The counts and lords of Kuinre ruled over Kuinre, Blankenham, Veenhuizen (drowned), Espel (drowned), Emmeloord, and Urk, all in or near the Noordoostpolder, as well as the first two castles of the Kuinre's.
The counts of Kuinre had coins minted on a grand scale. The mint was in Emmeloord (part of the island of Schokland). After the inpoldering remains have been found of the two castles. So rightfully the Coat of Arms (III), castle (II), and mint (IV) have been represented in the Noordoostpolder arms.
The Coat of Arms was designed by mr. G.A. Bontekoe, mayor of Ooststellingwerf.
Information from the Noordoostpolder municipal site.