This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lelystad (The Netherlands)

Capital, Flevoland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: lelystad |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Shipmate Flagchart :
Adopted 10 Dec 1981.

See also:

Lelystad municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 68.528; area: 76,47 km². Settlements: Lelystad (seat).
Lelystad is the capital of the province of Flevoland, the Netherlands. It was named after the designer of the masterplan to make 'polders' in the Zuiderzee, later IJsselmeer, Cornelis Lely (1854-1929).

The flag is another instance of a canting flag: 'Lelie' in Dutch = lily, fleur de lis. Adopted 10 Dec 1981.
Jarig Bakker, 16 August 1999.

Lelystad Coat of Arms

[Lelystad Coat of Arms] from Ralf Hartemink's site.

Granted 11 Sep 1979