This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Diever (The Netherlands)

Westerveld municipality, Drenthe province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: diever |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

former municipality of Diever Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 28 Feb 1974; design: unknown See also:

Diever [former municipality]

Flagdescription: white, charged with a red cross, of which the horizontal arm is at half flagheight, and the vertical arm at 1/3 flaglength, measured from the hoist. This cross is charged with a white cross of width = 1/3 of the width of the arm of the cross. In top hoist a red bottle with wide belly and narrow neck (kraaghalsflesje); in bottom hoist a red maple-leaf.
adopted 28 Feb 1974; design: unknown.
Diever consisted of the settlements Diever, Wapse, Wateren, Wittelte, Zorgvlied. The village of Diever was the seat of a "dingspel" (village judiciary). Until 1811 Eemster, Hoogersmilde, Leggeloo and Vledder were also part of Diever municipality. Vledder became a separate municipality in 1816.
Since 1946 there is an open-air theatre, where annually plays by Shakespeare are performed.