This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Judeţul Taraclia (Moldova, 1998-2003)

Last modified: 2011-04-09 by alex danes
Keywords: judeţ taraclia | taraclia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[flag of Judet Taraclia] 1:2, image by Alex Danes, 23 January 2011

See also:

The Flag

Silviu Andrieş-Tabac, "Introducere īn heraldică. Noţiuni generale şi īntregiri la armorialul teritorial romānesc" (Introduction to heraldry. General concepts and completions to the Romanian territorial armorial), Editura Universităţii din Bucureşti, Bucureşti, 2008, ISBN 978-973-737-443-1, reported that between 1998 and 2003 the territory of the Republic of Moldova was divided into 9, then 10 counties ("judeţ"), apart from the capital, Chisinau, and 2 autonomous units (Gagauzia and Transdnistria).

The National Commission of Heraldry of RM elaborated the coat of arms (2000) and flags (2001) of these counties. The flags were conceived as to display the main colors and charges of their respective coat of arms. The proportion of all the fields is 1:2, as in the state flag.

The flag of Taraclia was a horizontal tricolor 1:2:1, green-white-red, with a red 'taracli' tamgha on the white field near the hoist. Green, white and red are the traditional colors of the Bulgarians (66% pop. of this county), while the red 'taracli' tamgha symbolizes the name of the county.
Alex Danes, 23 January 2011