This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Northeast Province (Sri Lanka)

Former province

Last modified: 2010-12-03 by ian macdonald
Keywords: sri lanka | northeast province |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Northeast Province] image by António Martins-Tuválkin, 1 September 2006

Source: based on an image located by Valentin Poposki, 28 August 2006 at

See also:

Description of the Flag

The flag of Northeast Province was a red-white-green tricolour with a golden sun centred on the central white band.
Anusha Wijetunga
, 23 May 2002

The Northeast Province was split into the Eastern Province and the Northern Province on 27 May 2007. Originally they were two provinces. In 1983 they were merged to form the Northeastern Province and then in 27 May 2007 "un-merged" again.
Darme Watthayalage, 5 July 2007