This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

United Kingdom: Eastern Sea Fisheries Ensign

Last modified: 2010-12-29 by rob raeside
Keywords: red ensign | eastern sea fisheries ensign |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Eastern Sea Fisheries Ensign] image by Graham Bartram

See also:

About the Ensign

Warrant issued 9/8/1900.The ESF committee is believed to be seeking to change its badge (dated 1894) to reflect more accurately its present area of authority. Currently worn by MV's PROTECTOR and SURVEYOR.

The flag is illustrated in Bartram (2004), page 80
Martin Grieve, 3 November 2010

Martin is probably right about the badge, as the Eastern Sea Fisheries Joint Committee is currently in a period of transition to the Eastern Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority (EIFCA), due to be fully established on 01 April 2011. The new authority already has a badge and that therefore implies that the old organisation's badge and with it, the red ensign, will probably become defunct. You can see the badge on the ESFJC web site here: at the top right of the page. As you can see, it wouldn't look all that great on a red ensign. Bartram (2004) states that only three of the sea fisheries organizations have defaced red ensigns, so if that is still accurate, it would be kind of sad for one of the last remaining ones to disappear.

"MV's PROTECTOR and SURVEYOR" are not current Eastern Sea Fisheries vessels. Rather, these are styled not MV, but ESF Protector III, Three Counties and Pisces III. There are a few photographs of the vessels on the ESF's very early 90s style web site, but it was not possible to locate any showing the ensign, nor any other flags, for that matter.

(1) Eastern Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority, 1st Transition Meeting, 11 October 2010, Meeting Papers, as consulted Eastern Sea Fisheries Joint Committee web site, 20 December 2010
(2) Eastern Sea Fisheries Joint Committee web site, as consulted 20 December 2010

Colin Dobson, 20 December 2010