This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

University of Bedfordshire (United Kingdom)

Last modified: 2017-05-17 by rob raeside
Keywords: bedfordshire |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[University of Bedfordshire] image by Ivan Sache, 8 April 2017

See also:

University of Bedfordshire

The University of Bedfordshire welcomes more than 24,000 students on the four campuses of Luton, Bedford, Milton Keynes and Aylesbury.

The university was established in August 2006 by order of the Privy Council, following the merger between the University of Luton and De Montfort University's Bedford campus. In 1908, the Luton Modern School was established. Luton Technical Institute was founded in 1937 and, after various changes of name, became Luton College of Technology in 1958. In 1976, the college merged with Putteridge Bury College of Education to become Luton College of Higher Education. In 1993, the college became the University of Luton after receiving university designation. The Bedford campus has academic roots that go back to the founding of Bedford Training College for Teachers in 1882 and Bedford Physical Training College in 1903. Milton Keynes campus is the newest addition to the University of Bedfordshire. Launched officially in March 2013, Milton Keynes campus is backed by the University of Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes Council. The Aylesbury campus, based within Aylesbury College has state-of-the-art facilities for healthcare subjects including a fully equipped skills lab, which is set up to replicate a working hospital ward. - Official website

The flag of the university is white with the university's logo.


Ivan Sache, 8 April 2017