This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

University of Roehampton (England)

Last modified: 2015-05-17 by rob raeside
Keywords: university of roehampton | roehampton | surrey |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Banner of arms of Roehampton University] image by André Coutanche, 10 February 2006

See also:

University of Roehampton

I have just spoken with the Marketing Department at Roehampton and I am pleased to confirm that the emblem is indeed a flag. She says that there are several examples of the flag on the campus, and that one is carried in academic processions. She has no idea of the dimensions of the flag nor of the individual squares, however. The arms displayed are those of the four colleges which constitute the University. They represent Digby Stuart College, Froebel College, Southland College, and Whiteland College.

I am not sure whether the arms of Digby Stuart College represent either the Digbys or the Stuarts, or indeed if there is a Digby Stuart family. Froebel College is obviously named after the 19th Century German educational innovator, but I do not know if he or his family were armigerous. Southland and Whiteland Colleges would presumably have made-to-order coats of arms, as they are not named after individuals or families.
Ron Lahav, 10 February 2006

I would hazard that the fourth quarter is the gold and blue chequy of the de Warennes, one time Earls of Surrey. They were used in a number of civic grants to represent the county, and in the arms of the University of Surrey.
Laurence Jones, 10 February 2006