This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

United Kingdom: Regional Government Offices

Last modified: 2008-01-18 by rob raeside
Keywords: regional offices | southwest |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Government Office for the Southwest

[Government Office for the Southwest] image by Colin Dobson, 21 August 2007

I came across this photograph this morning of a flag on the Newton flag manufacturer web site. Although I have not been able to locate any information on how this flag might be used, it is labelled "Government Office for the South West". There follows some text:
"Government Office for the South West (GOSW) has offices located in Bristol, Truro and Plymouth. It represents the interests of several departments of the United Kingdom Government in the south west region of England, which is a predominantly rural area encompassing the local authority areas of Bath & North East Somerset, Bournemouth, Bristol, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Isles of Scilly, North Somerset, Plymouth, Poole, Somerset, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, Torbay and Wiltshire."
The flag has a dark red background. Superimposed upon this is a smaller white rectangle, with the words "GOVERNMENT OFFICE" on the top line and "FOR THE SOUTH WEST" on a bottom line, all in a Times New Roman bold font, the initial letters 'G' 'O' 'S' and 'W' slightly larger. This is a manner of logotype used on their web site, underneath the state arms.
Colin Dobson, 21 August 2007