This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Rapariegos (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2019-10-04 by ivan sache
Keywords: rapariegos |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Rapariegos - Image by Ivan Sache, 14 December 2010

See also:

Presentation of Rapariegos

The municipality of Rapariegos (244 inhabitants in 2009; 2,452 ha; unofficial webpage) is located on the border with Ávila Province, 60 km from Segovia.

Rapariegos was listed in the 13th century as Papariegos, which is most probably a transcription mistake.
The St. Clare Royal Monastery, still active, is said to have been founded in Rapariegos by two nuns sent by St. Clare and St. Francis of Assisi; the convent was indeed founded in the 13th century (1240/1270). Nuns from Rapariegos founded several other convents in the Segovia and Valladolid Provinces.
The chapel of the Christ of Moralejilla was built in Mudéjar (9th-10th centuries) and Romanesque (10th-11th centuries) styles in the village of Moraleja de Santa Cruz, for long disappeared (17th-18th centuries); recent findings indicate that the chapel was built on the remains of a Visigothic abbey church (5th-6th centuries).

Ivan Sache, 14 December 2010

Symbols of Rapariegos

The flag (image) and arms (image) of Rapariegos are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 13 May 2005 by the Municipal Council, signed on 18 May by the Mayor, 2005 and published on 19 July 2005 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 139, p. 12,798 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Quadrangular panel, with proportions 1:1, horizontally divided into three equal parts, red on top, yellow in the middle and blue on bottom, in the center the municipal coat of arms in full colors surmounted by a golden Royal crown.
Coat of arms: Per pale, 1. Azure a convent or roofed gules, 2. Gules a bend argent in chief a bunch of grapes or leaved vert in base an elm or. (The shield surmounted by the Royal Spanish crown).

Ivan Sache, 14 December 2010