This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Folgoso de la Ribera (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: folgoso de la ribera | león |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Folgoso de la Ribera - Image by Antonio Gutiérrez (VexiLeón website), 9 May 2011

See also:

Presentation of Folgoso de la Ribera

The municipality of Folgoso de la Ribera (1,233 inhabitants in 2009; 6,926 ha) is located in the northwest of León Province, 8 km of León. The municipality is made of the villages of Boeza (125 inh.), Folgoso de la Ribera (406 inh.; capital), La Ribera de Folgoso (511 inh.), Rozuelo (44 inh.), Tedejo (16 inh.), El Valle (86 inh.) and Villaviciosa de San Miguel (32 inh.).

Ivan Sache, 9 May 2011

Symbols of Folgoso de la Ribera

The flag and arms of Folgoso de la Ribera are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 31 July 2001 by the Municipal Council, signed on 9 August 2001 by the Mayor, and published on 27 August 2001 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 166, pp. 12,749-12,750 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular flag with proportions 2:3, made of a blue panel with a bend of 1/3 of the flag's hoist running from upper hoist to lower fly, charged with a black bear [oso] rampant at 1/3 of the hoist.
Coat of arms: Mantled, 1. Argent a bear rampant sable, 2. Gules a ruined castle argent masoned sable, mantle azure a bridge argent over waves argent and azure. The shield surmounted with a Royal crown closed.

Ivan Sache, 9 May 2011