This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Santa Ana (Municipality, Extremadura, Spain)

Last modified: 2020-11-14 by ivan sache
Keywords: santa ana |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Santa Ana - Image by Ivan Sache, 22 March 2020

See also:

Presentation of Santa Ana

The municipality of Santa Ana (262 inhabitants in 2019 vs. 928 in 1940; 3,499 ha; municipal website) is located 50 km south-east of Cáceres and 30 km south-west of Trujillo.
Santa Ana was once known as Aldea del Pastor. The old name might refer to a hamlet called Aldea del Pastor, established around 1300 in Villarejos, 2 km away from the present-day's village. Most probably, the "hamlet" consisted in little more than a chapel dedicated to St. Ann. In search of more fertile plots, the farmers moved the "hamlet" to a new site, which would eventually be renamed after the patron saint.

Ivan Sache, 22 March 2020

Flag of Santa Ana

The flag and arms of Santa Ana, adopted on 9 March 1995 by the Municipal Council and validated on 7 July 1994 and 17 May 1995 by the Assessing Council of Honors and Distinctions of the Government of Extremadura, are prescribed by an Order issued on 19 May 1995 by the Government of Extremadura and published on 27 May 1995 in the official gazette of Extremadura, No. 62, pp. 2,412-2,413 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular, in proportions 2:3. Compopsed of two equal horizontal stripes, the upper green and the lower white with the municipal coat of arms.
Coat of arms: Per fess, 1. Vert two staffs or in saltire, 2. Gules waves azure and argent. The shield surmounted by a Royal crown closed.

Ivan Sache, 22 March 2020