This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Benquerencia de la Serena (Municipality, Extremadura, Spain)

Last modified: 2020-10-11 by ivan sache
Keywords: benquerencia de la serena |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Benquerencia de la Serena

The municipality of Benquerencia de la Serena (841 inhabitants in 2018; 10,280 ha) is located 160 km east of Badajoz and 5 km south-east of Castuera. The municipality is composed of the villages of Benquerencia de la Serena, Helechal (316 inh.), La Nava (137 inh.), Puerto Hurraco (144 inh.), and Puerto Mejoral (1 inh.).

Ivan Sache, 14 March 2020

Flag of Benquerencia de la Serena

The flag and arms of Benquerencia de la Serena, adopted on 26 February and 29 July 1993 by the Municipal Council and validated on 22 September 1993 by the Assessing Council of Honors and Distinctions of the Government of Extremadura, are prescribed by an Order issued on 13 October 1993 by the Government of Extremadura and published on 26 October 1993 in the official gazette of Extremadura, No. 124 pp. 2,866-2,867 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular, in proportions 2:3. Composed of a green panel with a white triangle placed along the hoist and charged in the center with the municipal coat of arms in full colors.
Coat of arms: Gules a castle or port and windows azure masoned sable atop a mountain argent. A bordure or four crosses of the Order of Alcántara vert and four crescents azure. The shield surmounted by a Royal crown closed.

The arms represents the citadel of Benquerencia de la Serena, originally built around 850 by the Almohads. Seized in 1236 by Ferdinand III the Saint, the castle was granted in 1241 to the Order of Alcántara. Progressively ruined, the citadel was abandoned by its inhabitants in the 17th century. During the Civil War, the ruins were used as a watching site, without further damage.
[Arte en Ruinas, 14 December 2016]

Ivan Sache, 14 March 2020