This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Stade county (Germany)

Landkreis Stade, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: stade |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Stade County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 9 Jan 2008
Flag adopted 10 Aug 1967

See also:

Stade county

County: Stade
county seat: Stade
area: 1,265.99 qkm
population: 197,122
divisions: 40 municipalities, incl. 36 in 8 Samtgemeinden*, 2 cities
Flag adopted 10th August 1967
CoA adopted 28th October 1965
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community  in Lower Saxony.
Jörg Majewski, 9 Jan 2008


[Stade County arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 9 Jan 2008
adopted 28 Oct 1965

Additions : 1932 Kehdingen, Jork
The arms were granted on October 28, 1965.
The castle in the first quarter symbolises the Grafenburg castle in the district. The key is the symbol of the city of Bremen, as the area belonged to the Bishops of Bremen until 1648. The colours are the colours of Sweden, as the area belonged to Sweden from 1648 until the late 17th century. Both Jork and Stade also use the key. The base shows a horse for the State of Niedersachsen and the former Kingdom of Hannover.
Literature : Stadler, K. : Deutsche Wappen - Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Angelsachsen Verlag, 1964-1971, 8 volumes.
Source: Ralf Hartemink.