This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Schaumburg county (Germany)

Landkreis Schaumburg, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: schaumburg |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Schaumburg County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 7 Jan 2008
Flag adopted 15 Jan 1979

See also:

Schaumburg county

County: Schaumburg
county seat: Stadthagen
area: 675.59 qkm
population: 165,109
divisions: 38 municipalities, incl. 33 in 7 Samtgemeinden*, 7 towns
Flag adopted 15th January 1979
CoA adopted 15th January 1979
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community  in Lower Saxony.
Jörg Majewski, 7 Jan 2008


[Schaumburg County arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 7 Jan 2008
adopted 15 Jan 1979

Additions : 1978 Schaumburg-Lippe
The arms are taken from the arms of the Counts of Schaumburg, who founded their castle in Schaumburg in the early 12th century. In 1110 they also acquired the County of Holstein. The arms show the typical nettle-leaf used since the 12th century by the Counts.
The new arms were granted on January 15, 1979.
The new arms are slightly changed according to historical arms of Schaumburg.
Literature : Stadler, 1964-1971, 8 volumes; Linder and Olzog, 1996
Source: Ralf Hartemink.