This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kusel County (Germany)

Landkreis Kusel, Rhineland-Palatinate

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: kusel county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Kusel County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 17 Jul 2010
flag adopted: 19 Feb 1979

See also:

Kusel county

Kusel county
state Rhineland-Palatinate
flag adopted: 19th February 1979
Jörg Majewski, 17 Jul 2010

Description: Divided yellow and blue, bearing the arms. Granted 19.2.1979. Sources: Debus 1988 and Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website.
From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website: The arms were granted on December 13, 1965. The arms show the lions of Veldenz and the Pfalz. The largest part of the county belonged in the late Middle Ages to the Counts of Veldenz. From 1393-1444 the Counts of the Pfalz gradually acquired most of the county and kept it until the end of the 19th century.
The counts of Veldenz founded a castle in Emichonen in 1115 and named themselves after the area (von Veldenz). They ruled until 1444, when Veldenz was incorporated in Pfalz-Zweibrücken.
Literature: Stadler 1964-1971.
Stefan Schwoon, 30 Jan 2001


[Kusel County banner] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 17 Jul 2010
flag adopted: 19 Feb 1979

Cities and municipalities

 01 Verbandsgemeinde Altenglan
  • Altenglan, Bedesbach, Bosenbach municipality [BO], Elzweiler municipality [EL], Erdesbach municipality [ER], Föckelberg municipality [FK], Horschbach municipality [HB], Neunkirchen am Potzberg municipality [NP], Niederalben municipality [NA], Niederstaufenbach, Oberstaufenbach municipality [OS], Rammelsbach municipality [RM], Rathsweiler municipality [RT], Rutsweiler am Glan municipality [RG], Ulmet municipality [UL], Welchweiler municipality [WE].
02 Verbandsgemeinde Glan-Münchweiler 03 Verbandsgemeinde Kusel
  • Albessen municipality [AL], Blaubach, Dennweiler-Frohnbach municipality [DF], Ehweiler municipality [EH], Etschberg municipality [ET], Haschbach am Remigiusberg municipality [HR], Herchweiler, Konken, Körborn municipality [KB], Kusel city, Oberalben, Pfeffelbach, Reichweiler municipality [RC], Ruthweiler, Schellweiler, Selchenbach municipality [SE], Thallichtenberg municipality [TL], Theisbergstegen municipality [TS].
04 Verbandsgemeinde Lauterecken
  • Adenbach municipality [AD], Buborn municipality [BU], Cronenberg municipality [CR], Deimberg municipality [DM], Ginsweiler, Glanbrücken, Grumbach, Hausweiler municipality [HA], Heinzenhausen municipality [HZ], Herren-Sulzbach municipality [HS], Hohenöllen municipality [HO], Homberg municipality [HG], Hoppstädten, Kappeln municipality [KA], Kirrweiler municipality [KI], Langweiler municipality [LW], Lauterecken city, Lohnweiler municipality [LO], Medard, Merzweiler municipality [MZ], Nerzweiler municipality [NW], Odenbach, Offenbach-Hundheim, St. Julian municipality [SJ], Unterjeckenbach municipality [UJ], Wiesweiler municipality [WI].
05 Verbandsgemeinde Schönenberg-Kübelberg 06 Verbandsgemeinde Waldmohr 07 Verbandsgemeinde Wolfstein *A "Verbandsgemeinde" (VG) is a combination of several municipalities to an administration community in Rhineland-Palatinate.