This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Münster (Dieburg) Municipality (Germany)

Gemeinde Münster (bei Dieburg), Landkreis Darmstadt-Dieburg, Darmstadt District, Hesse

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: muenster(dieburg) | parted per fess | bar(black) | swan |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Münster (Dieburg) municipal banner] 5:2 image by Jörg Majewski, 2 June 2006
approved 10 November 1970 See also:

Münster (Dieburg) Municipality

The banner is off-centred quartered of white and red. The coat of arms is on the common point of all quarters.
inhabitants 14,077
Darmstadt-Dieburg County
Darmstadt District , state Hesse
banner approved on 10 November 1970
details based on the presentations of Klaus Günther with kind permission
The municipality flags are shown mostly in banner form in Hesse.
Jörg Majewski, 2 June 2006

Coat of Arms

Shield parted per fess, above Argent two bars Sable, beneath Gules a swan combatant Argent armed Or.
The arms are a combination of the arms of the Counts of Isenburg above (see also Neu-Isenburg) and the the crest of the Counts of Hanau beneath. The arms are based on a court seal from 1683, in which the two arms were quartered. In the 17th the municipality was a condominium of both kins. When the municipality became a dominion of Isenburg completely in 1716, the seal wasn't changed. The mayor's seal from 1808 however displayed the lion of Hesse, holding an inescutcheon of the Isenburg kin.
The arms were approved in 1956.
Source: Stadler 1967, p.66
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 16 May 2017

back to Darmstadt-Dieburg Cities and Municipalities Page click here