This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nürnberger Land County (Mittelfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Nürnberger Land

Last modified: 2012-03-31 by german editorial team
Keywords: landkreis nürnberger land | nürnberger land county | nuernberger land county | coat of arms: per pale (eagle: black) | coat of arms: per pale (barry: red-white) | coat of arms: base (watermill: white) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Nürnberger Land County (Mittelfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)]
by Stefan Schwoon
Coat-of-arms adopted 1 October 1974, flag adopted 11 January 1988

See also:


White-red stripes, 11.01.1988. The county comprises the area east of Nuremberg, its capital is Lauf an der Pegnitz. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Linder and Olzog 1996. The eagle stands for the former imperial city of Nuremberg.

Stefan Schwoon, 12 October 2001

The former counties of Nuremberg, Hersbruck and Lauf an der Pegnitz merged in 1972 to form the new Nürnberger Land county. From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on October 1, 1974.

The upper part shows the small arms of the city of Nuremberg, which was also present in the three older arms. The lower part is a new symbol, and symbolises the formerly important water-mills in the Pegnitz river.

Literature: Linder and Olzog 1996.

Santiago Dotor, 4 February 2004