This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Amberg-Sulzbach County (Oberpfalz District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Amberg-Sulzbach

Last modified: 2012-03-31 by german editorial team
Keywords: landkreis amberg-sulzbach | amberg-sulzbach county | coat of arms: per pale (lion: yellow) | coat of arms: per pale (mining tools: white) | coat of arms: base (fleurs-de-lis: white) | coat of arms: base (fleurs |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Amberg-Sulzbach County (Oberpfalz District, Bavaria, Germany)] 5:2
by Stefan Schwoon
Coat-of-arms adopted 17 August 1973, flag adopted 17 July 1979

See also:


Red-yellow stripes, adopted 17.07.1979. The seat of the county is Amberg. Amberg and Sulzbach-Rosenberg counties merged into Amberg-Sulzbach county during the 1972 municipal reform. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Stadler 1964-1972.

Stefan Schwoon, 7 August and 1 October 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on August 17, 1973.

The arms show the lion of the Pfalz, which was present in the arms of both former counties. The fleurs-de-lis are taken from the old arms of Sulzbach. The point shows the importance of mining during the history of the area. The first time mining was mentioned dates from a document from 787.

Literature: Linder and Olzog 1996.

Santiago Dotor, 12 January 2004