This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus: President of the Republic

Last modified: 2017-10-01 by ivan sache
Keywords: northern cyprus: turkish republic of |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of the President of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus - Image by Pascal Vagnat, after an official document, 9 March 1999

See also:

Flag of the President of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus

The President's flag, adopted in 1989 by Law No. 36, is the same as the flag of the Republic but has a golden star fimbriated red and gold, the red fimbriation being larger, on white in the canton. The golden star in the canton, of the same size as the star near the crescent, is at a distance from the flag's top and left equal to 1/14.5 of the flag's width. There is no mention of the size of the red and golden inner stars. The golden border around the flag has a width equal to 1/80 of the flag's width.

Pascal Vagnat, 9 March 1999

Car flag of the President of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus


Car flag of the President of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus - Image by Pascal Vagnat & Ivan Sache

In the car flag described by Michel Lupant, the upper red stripe is re-activated to the hoist of the star, making a short 2.5 x 6.5 cm red rectangle, in line with the big red stripe 6.5 cm wide.
The flag with this small rectangle is indeed a wrongly manufactured flag.

Armand Noël du Payrat & Pascal Vagnat, 9 October 1999

Mustafa Akıncı's campaign flag


Mustafa Akıncı's campaign flag - Image by Ivan Sache, 16 August 2017

Mustafa Akıncı (b. 1947 in Limassol; personal website) was elected President of Northern Cyprus in 2015.
Akıncı graduated in 1973 from the Faculty of Architecture at the Middle East Technical University (METU) and was elected in 1975 at the Constituent Assembly of Turkish Cypriots. Mayor of North Nicosia from 1976 to 1990, he worked in partnership with his Greek counterpart for the benefit of all citizens of Nicosia; the two Mayors were rewarded in 2003 with the Europa Nostra Medal of Honor.
President of the Communal Liberation Party (TKP) from 1987 to 2001, Akıncı was member of the Turkish Cypriot Parliament from 1993 to 2009, serving as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Tourism from 1999 to 2001.
In the aftermath of the Annan Plan, Akıncı was in 2003 among the founders of the Peace and Democracy Movement (BDP), subsequently merged with the TKP to form the Communal Democracy Party (TDP).

Akıncı registered as an independent candidate for the 2015 presidential election. He obtained 29,030 votes (26.94%) in the first round. In the second round, he obtained 67,035 votes (60.50%), defeating Derviş Eroğlu, President from 2010 to 2015.
During the campaign, Akıncı's supporters used white flags with a logo made of a branch of olive and the candidate's name in dark blue letters, the horizontal bar of the "A" being replaced by a red slanted stripe (photo, photo).
They also used a blue flag with the writing "CEVAP AKINCI" (Answer Akıncı) and the red slanted stripe beneath the writing.

Ivan Sache, 16 August 2017

Flag reportedly used in 1983-1984


Reported flag of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, 1983-1984 - Image by Santiago Dotor, 18 December 2002

In 1983, two white stripes were added to the Turkish flag used until then. The colours were reverted the next year.

Andreas Birken, 18 December 2002