This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bom Jesus, Rio Grande do Sul (Brazil)

Last modified: 2020-07-13 by ian macdonald
Keywords: rio grande do sul | bom jesus |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Bom Jesus, RS (Brazil) image by Ivan Sache, 12 July 2020

See also:


The municipality of Bom Jesus (11,349 inhabitants in 2019; 26,257 ha) is located 250 km north-east of Porto Alegre. The municipality is composed of the districts of Bom Jesus (seat), Capela São Francisco, Capão do Tigre, Casa Branca, Santo Inácio and Itambeizhino.

Bom Jesus emerged around a chapel dedicated to Senhor Bom Jesus do Bom Fim, erected in 1879 by Manoel Silveira de Azevedo to fulfill a vow made during the Paraguayan War. The parish of Senhor Bom Jesus was established on 12 December 1918.
The municipality of Bom Jesus was established by Decree No. 2,000 issued on 16 July 1913, separating from Vacaria.
Located on a main road connecting Rio Grande do Sul to Sorocaba (São Paulo), Bom Jesus became a main center for tropeiros - troop and commissions drovers of horse, cattle and mule moving between regions. This historic heritage was recognized by the proclamation of Bom Jesus as Tropeirism State Capital in 2012 and Tropeirism National Capital in 2013.
Municipal website
Ivan Sache
, 12 July 2020


The flag of Bom Jesus is vertically divided red-white-green, charged in the center with a yellow disk surrounded by four blue stars on top and another one in bottom.
The yellow disk must represent a host. The stars most probably represent the districts - beneath the host, the central district, above it the peripheral district.


Ivan Sache, 12 July 2020