This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Brazilian Progressive Party

Partido Progressista Brasileiro (PPB)

Last modified: 2008-08-02 by ian macdonald
Keywords: brazil | political parties | progressive | ppb |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the Brazilian Progressive Party] image located by AD, 29 September 2004

See also:

About the Flag

The Brazilian Progressive Party is now obsolete. Now, its name is "Progressive Party". And PPB has a new name: PP. See: And the flag isn't PPB, but PP.
AD, 29 September 2004

Brazilian Progressive Party

[Flag of the Brazilian Progressive Party] image by Carlos Noronha and António Martins

The flag logo of the PPB was at
Dov Gutterman, 8 March 1999

According to Carlos Noronha, this is perhaps the Brazilian party most to the right of the political spectrum. The flag is a blue over red horizontal bicolor with the white initials centered in an italic font.
Jorge Candeias, 9 May 1999

This is weird, because the colors are the same as those of the best-known Spanish right-wing party in the late 70s and early 80s, Fuerza Nueva (New Force). Its flag was square, divided from upper fly to lower hoist blue over red, with "F" on the top hoist and "N" on the bottom fly (white letters in a sans serif font). The colors are those of the uniforms of the FET y de las JONS, the single party during General Franco's regime--the blue shirt of the Falange combined with the red beret of the Carlists. The red and blue combination still tends to be seen in Spanish politics as denoting right wing orientations. Where do the Brazilian right-wing red and blue come from?
Santiago Dotor, 11 May 1999

Variant Flag

[Variant Flag of the Brazilian Progressive Party] image y Guillermo Tell Aveledo

About the PPB

The PPB was created in a 1995 merger of the Progressive Renewal Party and the Progressive Party. Its base of support is mainly among businessmen and landowners and its agenda is strongly in favor of privatization.  In 2002, it took 49 seats in the Chamber of Deputies.
Joseph McMillan, 16 April 2001 and 5 November 2002.