This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Brčko District (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Last modified: 2014-03-01 by ivan sache
Keywords: brcko | zovik |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Status of Brčko District

After the Dayton Peace Accords in 1995 the status of Brčko was left unsolved for the time being. The Arbitration Court worked on the issue for the next few years; on 5 March 1999, the decision was made that Brčko District shall be formed as a special entity of Bosnia and Herzegovina that shall be neither part of Republika Srpska nor of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina.
Article 2 of the District Statutes says:

The name of the District is: "The Brčko District of Bosnia and Herzegovina". The seat of the District is the town of Brčko.

Željko Heimer & Nitesh Dave, 19 May 2004

Symbols of Brčko District

Article 3 of the District Statutes says:

There shall be no flag and coat of arms for the District other than the flag and coat of arms of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Nitesh Dave, 13 March 2000

Former coat of arms of of Brčko

[Canton arms]

Former coat of arms of Brčko - Image by Željko Heimer, 14 May 2000

The coat of arms of the former, Serbian municipality of Brčko was abolished when the District was proclaimed.

Željko Heimer, 11 March 2000


Zovik, nowadays part of the Brčko District, was proclaimed a separate municipality as a part of Croatian held territories. With the Dayton Peace Accords and the subsequent resolution of the Brčko issue, Zovik became part of the single administrative unit of Brcko.

The flag shown on the Zovik website (photo) must be the flag of the short-lived municipality, part of the Croatian Republic of Herzeg-Bosnia, or, alternatively, the flag of the Roman Catholic parish of the same name.

Dov Gutterman & Željko Heimer, 24 June 2002