This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cruising Yacht Club of Australia

Rushcutters Bay, New South Wales

Last modified: 2015-06-22 by ian macdonald
Keywords: cruising yacht club of australia | blue ensign | letters: cyca (yellow) | stars: southern cross (yellow) | southern cross (yellow) | stars: 7 points (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Cruising Yacht Club of Australia burgee]
image by Ivan Sache, 29 Jul 2006

See also:

Cruising Yacht Club of Australia

The Cruising Yacht Club of Australia (CYCA) is located in Darling Point, next to the Rushcutters Bay Park, near central Sydney, New South Wales. It was formed in 1944; the next year, a planned cruise to Hobart (Tasmania) quickly turned into a race and the famous Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race was born. The race attracted competitors from all around the word and is now considered as the Everest of ocean racing. The next race will start on 26 December 2006. A CCYA team came close second at the famous Admiral's Cup in England in 1965 and won the Cup in 1967. The CYCA has today almost 3,000 members.

CYCA website
Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race official website (by CYCA)
Ivan Sache, 29 July 2006


The burgee of CYCA is blue with the Crux Australis constellation in yellow. All the graphical representations of the burgee found on websites, clothes, umbrellas etc. are triangular, but the real burgee, as sold by the CYCA, is trapezoid, the point of the triangle at fly being truncated.

Source: CYCA website
Ivan Sache, 29 July 2006


[Cruising Yacht Club of Australia ensign]
image by Clay Moss, 28 Feb 2006

The club has confirmed that the letters "CYCA" make up the defacement on the blue ensign.
Clay Moss, 12 June 2007

The CYCA was itself established in 1944 according to its website, but at a cursory glance, there's no mention of when the ensign came into use.
Clay Moss, 28 February 2006

First appeared in the Navy List [naL] of yacht clubs using a special ensign in 1954.
David Prothero, 1 March 2006