This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Federal Department, Entre Ríos Province, Argentina

Last modified: 2021-12-24 by rob raeside
Keywords: federal department | entre ríos province | argentina |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Municipality of Federal

[Municipality of Federal flag] image by Ivan Sache, 14 Jul 2013

The municipality of Federal (14,478 inhabitants in 2001) is located in central northern Entre Ríos Province. Federal is the capital of the Federal Department (25,863 inh. in 2010, 5,060 sq. km), established on 15 September 1972. The department is made of the six districts of Francisco Ramírez, Diego López, Chañar, Banderas and Las Achiras and Sauce de Luna, of the municipalities of Federal, Conscripto Bernardi and Sauce de Luna, and of several other rural settlements.

Federal was first known as Las Yeguas (lit., The Mares), a settlement established by four horse breeders. On 7 September 1880, Colonel José Francisco Antelo formally founded a colony named Colonia Antelo, renamed Colonia Federal in 1884. Federal was recognized as an independent municipality by the Provincial government in 1888.

The flag of Federal, designed in 2005 by Natividad Cabrera, is horizontally divided celeste blue-white-celeste blue (recalling the national flag) with a red diagonal stripe placed in upper right corner (recalling the Entre Ríos flag and representing Federalism) and the municipal coat of arms placed along the hoist.

The coat of arms of Federal was adopted in 1973.

The upper part of the shield is charged with historical symbols. The cross recalls the Christian religion brought by the Jesuits. The "tacuara", a rudimentary lance made of a knife blade tied to a stalk of sugarcane, used by gaucho militias during the Argentine war of independence, recalls the involvement of the gauchos into the Federalist struggle. The spears with a pennant of the national colours symbolize the involvement of the Indians in the patriotic struggle; the pennants are the symbol of Federal sovereignty. The three stars represent the three original ranches.

The lower part of the shield is charged with elements of the landscape. The blue line represents brook Federal and its tributaries. The mares represent the feral equines found in the region. The bovine represents the main source of income for the region. THe wheat garb represents crops. The green hills represent El Montiel and the local "cuchillas" (hills typical in Entre Ríos and Uruguay, also known in Rio Grande do Sul [Brazil] as "coxilhas").

Ivan Sache, 14 Jul 2013

Other sites: