This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Biť Province (Angola)

Last modified: 2021-01-02 by bruce berry
Keywords: bie | angola |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

  See also:



Biť is a province of Angola located on the Biť Plateau in the centre of the country.  It's capital is Kuito (Cuito), previously called Silva Porto until independence from Portugal in 1975.


The Province of Biť has nine municipalities which are sub-divided into various communes:

Municipality of Andulo has 4 communes - Andulo, Calucinga, Cassumbe, and Chivaulo.
Municipality of Camacupa has 5 communes - Camacupa, Cuanza, Muinha, Ringoma, and Umpulo.
Municipality of Catabola has 5 communes - Caiuera, Catabola, Chipeta, Chiuca, and Sande.
Municipality of Chinguar has 3 communes - Cangote, Chinguar, and Cutato.
Municipality of Chitembo has 6 communes - Cachingues, Chitembo, Malengue, Mumbue, Mutumbo, and Soma Cuanza.
Municipality of Cuemba has 4 communes - Cuemba, Luando, Munhango, and Sachinemuna.
Municipality of Kuito (Cuito) has 5 communes - Cambandua, Chicala, Cuito, Cunje, and Trumba.
Municipality of Cunhinga has 2 communes - Belo Horizonte and Cunhinga.
Municipality of Nharea has 5 communes - Calei, Dando, Gamba, Lubia, and Nharea.
Valentin Poposki, 15 Sept 2020

Biť Provincial flag

The province does not have any distinctive symbols and uses a generic logo containing the Angolan coat of arms.

Valentin Poposki, 15 Sept 2020

Former Arms of municipalities in Biť Province

Prior to independence, municipalities in Angola were one of three types:
City (Cidade)
Town (Vila)
Settlement (Povoacao).

Now these are communes.  Some of the former (colonial era) Arms of towns in Biť province are shown below.
Valentin Popski, 06 Sept 2020

City of Silva Porto (Cidade de Silva Porto) (now called Cuito)

image sent by Valentin Poposki, 15 Sept 2020