This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Klein Vrystaat (South Africa)

Little Free State

Last modified: 2020-04-25 by bruce berry
Keywords: klein vrystaat |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Klein Vrystaat (South Africa)] image by Ivan Sache, 28 Apr 2000

See also :

Klein Vrystaat

From 1876, a number of Boers bought land from the Swazi king Umbandino. A formal government was formed in 1886 when a Constitution was adopted. Klein Vrystaat ('Little Free State') was incorporated in the Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek (South African Republic) on 02 August 1890.

The flag of the Klein Vrystaat was the same as the Transvaal 'Vierkleur' (Four colours) - horizontal red-white-blue with a vertical green stripe near the hoist. The width of the green stripe was equal to the height of the horizontal stripes in the Klein Vrystaat flag and 1.25 times this height in the Vierkleur (meaning 4 colour).
Use: 'National' flag, 1886-1890. Proportions: 3:2. Accuracy: High
Source: 'Sovereign flags of Southern Africa' by A.P. Burgers (1997) [bur97].
Ivan Sache, 17 November 1997

The Klein Vrijstaat left its mark on the map: the notch in the south-western border of Swaziland is all that's left of this state.
Mike Oettle, 14 Dec 2001

A few additional details about the Klein Vrystaat and its flag from C.L. Engelbrecht's book entitled Republiek van Klein Vrystaat 1886-1891 (2000) :

- the fabric for the flag was bought in April 1890 (it cost 9 shillings);
- according to one source, the flag was flown with the blue stripe uppermost, not the red stripe; and
- the Klein Vrystaat was incorporated into the Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek on 11 April 1891.

Assuming that the flag was made in April 1890, it was used, then, for only one year.
Arthur Radburn, 09 Oct 2015