This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Episcopal Church in the Philippines

Last modified: 2013-11-16 by Zachary Harden
Keywords: episcopal church | philippines |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

The Episcopal Church in the Philippines is one of the constituent members of the Anglican Communion. It has about 125,000 members and is divided into 6 dioceses: Central Philippines, North Central Philippines, Northern Luzon, Northern Philippines, Santiago, and Southern Philippines. At the Church's website there is a photo captioned "Banners of the Dioceses, the Province [i.e. the Church] and the Flag of the Republic in procession":

The banner of the Province is gonfalon-shaped, but some of the other "banners" are true flags, see

The white gonfalon with a log right behind the national flag is probably that of the Province, since the logo matches that displayed prominently on the Church's homepage:
The dark green flag right behind that is also probably representing the whole Province, since it bears the Church's arms, see the top of I'm not sure which dioceses are represented by which flags, but since decent views of the arms can be seen on a few of them it might be possible to ferret some out. Also note that the Episcopal Church in the Philippines is not to be confused with the Iglesia Filipina Independiente (Philippine Independent Church) a different denomination which is in full communion with the Anglican Communion but is not a member of it.
Ned Smith, 15 January 2006

In the year 2001 the Episcopal Church of the Philippines held a celebration commemorating the centennial of the Episcopal presence in the Philippines. The ceremony was preceded by a march, with various church organizations, institutions, dioceses, and even parishes parading their various flags and banners. There was a color photo at  [no longer active] which shows several of these flags. I was able to recognize the Philippine national flag, a special white banner issued by the Church to mark the centennial, the green Banner of Arms with the gold fringe, which is either the official Church flag or that of the Prime Bishop, and the blue banner belonging to St Andrew's Theological Seminary, the principal institution for the training of priests. I am unable to recognize any of the others, especially the yellow and the turquoise-aquamarine-turquoise Banners of Arms in the foreground. I assume that these latter are diocesan flags, but I am unable to identify them.
Ron Lahav, 11 July 2007

See also: