This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Matagalpa Department (Nicaragua)

Departamento de Matagalpa

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: nicaragua | matagalpa | matiguas | san isidoro |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Fred Drews, 12 August 2009

See also:

Other sites:


Matagalpa flag - Yellow mean that Matagalpa is a Catholic city. The balls in the shield are the first ten houses in the city. In the center of the shield, there is a "telar" where the indigenous people manufactured their clothes. The inscription below the shield is "La Perla del Septentrión".
Blue is for the colors of Nicaragua's national flag
Green is for the Matagalpa mountains
White mean peace. In the white stripe, there is the outline of the department and within it the "maize" and "cafe", its main products.
Source: Elisabet Ollé personal trip and photo, Information provided by Ms. Rosa.
Jaume Ollé, 5 April 2008

Coat of Arms

image contributed by Fred Drews, 12 August 2009


  • Ciudad Dario (Metapa)
  • Esquipulas
  • Matagalpa
  • Matiguas
  • Muy Muy
  • Rancho Grande
  • Río Blanco
  • San Dionisio
  • San Isidro
  • San Ramón
  • Sébaco
  • Terrabona
  • Tuma La Dalia