This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Sainte-Menehould (Municipality, Marne, France)

Last modified: 2021-03-16 by ivan sache
Keywords: sainte-menehould |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag]         [Flag]

Flag of Sainte-Menehould, current and former versions - Images by Olivier Touzeau, 26 August 2020

See also:

Presentation of Sainte-Menehould

The municipality of Sainte-Menehould (4,150 inhabitants in 2018; 5,711 ha) is located in Brie, 70 km east of Reims.

Sainte-Menehould, as part of the county of Clermont-en-Argonne, belonged to the duchy of Lorraine until 1641, when the county was ceded to France; in 1648, it was granted as an appanage to Louis, the Great Condé, making it independent of the royal control.
Condé established Sainte-Menehould as his capital and fortified the town in 1652, when he was leader of the 1650-1653 civil war known as the Fronde. The military engineer Vauban worked on the fortifications as a member of Condé's regiment; he changed sides when captured by a Royalist patrol in early 1653. Condé's governor, Count of Montal surrendered the town in November 1653.
A large part of the town was destroyed in 1719 by a blaze. It was rebuilt in a remarkable style, in brick and alternating gaize, with Mansard roofs. The Town Hall's cornerstone was laid in 1730.

Olivier Touzeau, 26 August 2020

Flag of Sainte-Menehould

The flag of Sainte-Menehould (photo, photo, photo, photo, photo) is white with the municipal logo adopted in 2011. The former flag (photo, photo) was white with the former logo.

Olivier Touzeau, 26 August 2020