This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Espeja de San Marcelino (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: espeja de san marcelino | soria |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Espeja de San Marcelino

The municipality of Espeja de San Marcelino (194 inhabitants in 2010; 7,178 ha; unofficial website) is located in the west of Soria Province, on the border with Burgos Province. The municipality is made of the villages of Espeja de San Marcelino (53 inh.; capital), Guijosa (76 inh.), La Hinojosa (26 inh.), Orillares (38 inh.) and Quintanilla de Nuño Pedro (20 inh.).

Espeja must have appeared in the early 10th century during the resettlement campaign led by Count Gonzalo Fernández. A small fortification was built on the hill known as El Castillo, aimed at watching the surroundings and providing a shelter for the villagers in case of Moorish raid. The name of the village was derived from specula, "a watch tower"; the village was mentioned for the first time in 1040 as Espelia.
Espeja was granted the title of villa on 27 August 1653 by King Philip IV.

Ivan Sache, 6 March 2011

Symbols of Espeja de San Marcelino

The flag and arms of Espeja de San Marcelino are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 17 April 2000 by the Soria Provincial Government, signed on 2 May 2000 by the President of the Government, and published on 18 May 2000 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 95, p. 6,106 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular flag with proportions 2:3, vertically divided, at hoist red with a white cross throughout, at fly white with a green pine in the middle.
Coat of arms: Per pale, 1. Gules a pillory argent, 2. Or a tower gules, grafted in base argent a pine vert. The shield surmounted with a Royal Spanish crown.

Ivan Sache, 6 March 2011