This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Valdepolo (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: valdepolo |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Valdepolo - Image by Antonio Gutiérrez (VexiLeón website), 19 May 2011

See also:

Presentation of Valdepolo

The municipality of Valdepolo (1,312 inhabitants in 2010; 14,254 ha; municipal website) is located in the east of León Province, 40 km of León. The municipality is made of the villages of La Aldea del Puente, Quintana de Rueda (capital), Quintana del Monte, Saelices de Payuelo, Valdepolo, Villahibiera, Villalquite, Villamondrín de Rueda and Villaverde la Chiquita.

Valdepolo was mentioned for the first time in 913 as Vallis de populo, subsequently transformed to Valdepobulo, Vade polo, Valdepoblo and, eventually, Valdepolo. The villages forming the today's municipality of Valdepolo were ruled from Rueda del Almirante, named for the Enríquez, lords of Rueda and Admirals (almirante) of Castile.

Ivan Sache, 19 May 2011

Symbols of Valdepolo

The flag and arms of Valdepolo (as Valdepolo-Quintana de Rueda) are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 30 September 1994 by the León Provincial Government, signed on the same dayby the President of the Governmen, and published on 16 November 1994 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 221 (text).
The symbols is described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular flag, with proportions 2:3, made of three equal vertical stripes, blue at hoist, white in the middle and green at fly. In the middle stripe is placed the municipal coat of arms.
Coat of arms: Per fess, 1a. Vert a bustard argent, 1b. Argent a clematis vert, 2. Azure a wheel [rueda] argent over waves argent and azure, a bordure argent charged with nine ermines. The shield surmounted with a Royal Spanish crown.

Ivan Sache, 19 May 2011