This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cubillos de Rueda (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: cubillos de rueda |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Cubillos de Rueda - Image by Ivan Sache, 10 April 2011

See also:

Presentation of Cubillos de Rueda

The municipality of Cubillos de Rueda (511 inhabitants in 2009; 8,682 ha) is located in the east of León Province, 40 km of León. The municipality is made of the villages of Cubillas de Rueda (capital), Herreros de Rueda, Llamas de Rueda, Palacios de Rueda, Quintanilla de Rueda, Sahechores de Rueda, San Cipriano de Rueda, Vega de Monasterio and Villapadierna.

Ivan Sache, 10 April 2011

Symbols of Cubillos de Rueda

The flag and arms of Cubillos de Rueda are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 24 January 2001 by the Municipal Council, signed on 12 February 2001 by the Mayor, and published on 13 March 2001 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 51, p. 4,170 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Quadrangular flag with proportions 1:1, green.
Coat of arms: Dexter quarter: a lion rampant gules (red) on a white background (pertaining to the Kingdom of León). Sinister quarter: argent charged with three ermines (arms of the Fróilaz, lords of Rueda and its alfoz [group of villages] in the Middle Ages). In base, azure a wheel [rueda] argent over waves (the wheel, symbol of the village and of the Rueda del Almirante County, and the waves of river Esla). A bordure gules charged with eight saltires [Crown not mentioned].

Ivan Sache, 10 April 2011