This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Barjas (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: barjas | león |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Barjas - Image by Antonio Gutiérrez (VexiLeón website), 19 February 2011

See also:

Presentation of Barjas

The municipality of Barjas (279 inhabitants in 2009; 6,266 ha) is located in the west of León Province, 160 km of León. The municipality is made of the villages of Albaredos, Barjas (capital), Barrosas, Busmayor, Campo de Liebre, Corporales, Corrales, Guimil, Moldes, Mosteiros, Peñacaira, Quintela, Serviz and Vegas do Seo.

Ivan Sache, 19 February 2011

Symbols of Barjas

The flag and arms of Barjas are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 29 March 2001 by the Municipal Council, signed on the same day by the Mayor, and published on 27 April 2001 in the official gazette of Castile and León, No. 82, p. 6,507 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular flag with proportions 2:3, made of three horizontal stripes with proportions 1:4, 1:2 and 1:4, the outer stripes green and the central stripe white with a blue serrated stripe of 1/8.
Coat of arms: Argent a nut tree vert charged with a bull sable, a bordure serrated azure. The shield surmounted with a Royal crown closed.

Ivan Sache, 19 February 2011