This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Pueblo Nuevo Parish (Manabi, Ecuador)

Last modified: 2021-08-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: manabi | portoviejo | pueblo nuevo |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Ivan Sache, 05 January 2015

See also:


The parish of Pueblo Nuevo, part of Puebloviejo canton (Manabí province), was established on 21 October 1952.
Ivan Sache, 05 January 2015

The Flag

The flag and arms of Puerto Viejo, adopted on 21 August 2007 by the Parish Council and approved on 17 March 2008 by the Canton Council, are prescribed by the Cantonal Ordinance of 5 September 2011.
Article 3 describes the flag as follows:
The flag of the parish of Pueblo Nuevo shall be divided into three horizontal stripes of the same dimensions; the upper stripe shall be celestial blue, the central stripe shall be white, and the lower stripe shall be green. The flag shall be charged with a circle made of 12 stars that represent the 11 historical settlements (Los Naranjos, Cajafuego, El Gramal, Tierra Dura, Palo Quemado, Los Laureles, La Majagua, Santa Rosa, El Cerro, Tablada del Tigre, and Los Tigres) and the capital of the parish.
Article 4 gives the meaning of the colours as follows:
1. Celestial blue represents the sky as well as the wetlands and the watercourses whose water lively resounds and that supply everyday's life.
2. White represents the purity of the air, as well as the transparency, humility and purity of the heart of the people of Puerto Nuevo.
3. Green represents the greenness of the fields, the flavour of pure and natural air, and aspiration to a paradisiacal future.
Article 5 gives the meaning of the stars as follows:
The stars shall be bright yellow. They represent the 11 communities, arranged in a circle meaning the union and fraternity of their inhabitants.
Source:  - La Wiki del Ecuador
Ivan Sache, 05 January 2015