This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Danske Bank (Denmark)

Danske Bank A/S

Last modified: 2020-10-03 by christopher oehler
Keywords: denmark | danske bank | bank |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Danske Bank flag] image by Tomislav Sipek, 19 July 2020

[Danske Bank flag] located by Esteban Rivera, 18 July 2020
Located at:

See also:


The flag is a horizontal blue background with the logo ( in the lower middle, the "Danske" part of the logo in white letters and located in the lower-middle part of the flag, inside a white rectangle, and the "Bank" part of the logo in white letters, below the rectangle. According to their official website and their "Images Bank" (, the logo to be used is this version (middle resolution digital version):

There was a temporary logo used between September and October of 2010, keeping the same structure and font type as the current logo, changing only the background colors, being black and yellow, as seen here:

For additional information please refer to:
Danske Bank (official websites):
Esteban Rivera, 18 July 2020

Background (of Company)

Danske Bank A/S (Aktieselskab) (English: Danish Bank, Companies) (sometimes refered to as Danske Bank-koncernen, English: Danske Bank Group) was established on October 5, 1871 in Københavns Kommune as "Den Danske Landmandsbank, Hypothek- og Vexelbank i Kjøbenhavn" (English: The Danish Farmers' Bank, Mortgage and Exchange Bank of Copenhagen), colloquially known as "Landmandsbanken" (English: Farmers' Bank) and it is the largest bank in Denmark and a major retail bank in the northern European region. It serves private customers, small and large companies as well as institutional customers with multiple products, such as savings accounts, mortgages, pension products, insurance, wealth management, etc. In 1928 Arnold Peter Møller (A. P. Møller) was appointed the president and since then a long lasting partnership has been established with the shipping company A. P. Møller / Maersk Line the biggest Danish company (AP Møller Holding A/S (Aktieselskab)) in return controls the majority of shares in the Danske Bank). The bank changed its name from Landmandsbanken to Den Danske Bank in 1975 (other sources mention 1976). On December 12, 1989 by recommendation of the Boards of the three most prominent banks (Provinsbanken A/S, Aktieselskabet Kjøbenhavns Handelsbank and Den Danske Bank) it was suggested that the banks be merged, which effectively took place the following year, on April 6, 1990. In 2000 the bank changed its name again to its current form, Danske Bank A/S, after the acquisition of RealDanmark and Fokus Bank (which was completed in 2001).

Over the years it has acquired and/or merged with other banks, financial institutions, real estate and pension funds such as:

It has also divested several others as follows:

  • All banking activities in Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia and Russia (2019)
  • Personal banking activities in Lithuania and Latvia (2015)
  • HandelsFinans (2005)
  • (International) Engrosbank (UK) (2004)
  • (International) Engrosbank (USA) (2004)
  • (DDB (Den Danske Bank)) Danske Securities (2002)
  • DDB (Den Danske Bank) Hong Kong Branch (2002)
  • DDB (Den Danske Bank) Singapore Branch (2001)
  • BG Garanti Forsikringsselskab A/S (also known as BG Garanti) (2001)
  • BG Factoring A/S (2001)
  • (DDB (Den Danske Bank)) Forenade Factors A/S (2000)
  • BG International (Luxembourg) (2000)
  • (DDB (Den Danske Bank)) General Insurance (1999)

The Bank has used several logos on its products and merchandising reflecting its multiple divisions (business units) throughout the years when a new logo (, source: was designed and introduced in 1965 (other sources (mainly: mention 1967) by Danish Architect and Industrial Designer Acton Bjørn. The current logo must have been introduced after the last name change in 2000.


Esteban Rivera, 18 July 2020